Project Learn Steering Committee


SRJC Project Learn, Learning Enhancement through Assessment and Reflection

Project LEARN is the name of the Student Learning Outcomes (SLO) initiative at Santa Rosa Junior College. The acronym “LEARN” stands for “Learning Enhancement through Assessment and Reflection.” Project LEARN was created in response to ACCJC Accreditation Standards that measure institutional effectiveness, primarily in terms of the College’s success in producing desired student learning outcomes at the course, program, and institutional levels.

In the Spring 2009 Accreditation visit, SRJC met all standards, but was directed to reach a level of "proficiency" in terms of achieving an outcomes-based institution by the midterm report in Fall 2012. Project LEARN comprises the college's efforts to meet that standard, as described in Part III of the ACCJC Rubric for Evaluating Institutional Effectiveness (PDF).

Project LEARN Vision

Santa Rosa Junior College is a Learning Centered Institution. The college, through Project LEARN, provides a foundation for a community of inquiry where ongoing collegial dialogue, collaborative review of evidence, and deliberate reflection support the improvement of teaching and learning.

Project LEARN Steering Committee

The Project LEARN Steering Committee is a multi-constituent standing committee that provides vision, direction, goals, communication, trainings, and support for student learning outcomes assessment at Santa Rosa Junior College. Details about the Steering Committee are described in the institutional description of Committee Structure (PDF).

The Project Learn Steering Committee is comprised of the Outcomes Assessment Facilitator, the chairs of the other Project Learn committees, and representatives from various constituent groups on campus. The primary function of the Steering Committee is to oversee the project as a whole and to set long term goals and direction.

Project LEARN Steering Committee Members

Saeid Eidgahy
Committee Co-chair
Senior Dean, Liberal Arts and Sciences

Andrea Alexandra
Committee Co-chair
Faculty, Disability Resources Department

Kerry Loewen
Dean, Arts and Humanities

Susan Quinn
Director, Student Health Services

Chris Grant
Faculty, Counseling

Smita Avasthi
Librarian, Library and Information Resources

KC Greaney
Director, Office of Institutional Research

Juan Arias
Director, Hispanic Serving Institution (HSI)

Jill Kelly-Moore - SLO Coordinator
Faculty, Philosophy, Humanities, Religion

Kimberly Starke
Manager, Disability Resources

John Weser
Faculty, English

Joshua Pinaula
Student, SRJC



Project LEARN SLO Coordinators and Support

SLO coordinator is a faculty member appointed to assist instructors in identifying and assessing Student Learning Outcomes for courses, certificates, majors, and Student Services programs.

Jill Kelly-Moore
Faculty, Philosophy, Humanities, Religion 


Project LEARN Agendas and Minutes

Agendas and archived minutes are available as PDF files.